PALS Certification for Healthcare Professionals

Spread the love

Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certification is a training program designed for healthcare professionals who work with children, particularly in an emergency or critical care settings. The program aims to improve the quality of care provided to pediatric patients by teaching healthcare professionals how to identify and treat life-threatening conditions and effectively communicate and coordinate care within a team. 

This article will discuss the PALS certification program and some of its benefits and requirements. We will also cover the steps to becoming a PALS-certified healthcare professional.

What Is PALS for Healthcare Professionals?

PALS is a training program for healthcare professionals geared explicitly toward recognizing and managing critically ill children and infants. It is designed to provide healthcare professionals with the knowledge and skills necessary to perform advanced resuscitation techniques in a pediatric setting, such as chest compressions and defibrillation.

PALS is often required for healthcare professionals in emergency departments, intensive care units, and other settings where critically ill children may be treated. It is recognized by the American Heart Association and is frequently updated to reflect the latest advances in pediatric care.


PALS is a certification program that teaches healthcare providers how to recognize and treat critically ill or injured children. It covers advanced resuscitation techniques for children, including CPR, defibrillation, and the use of medications.

NRP (Neonatal Resuscitation Program) is a certification program that teaches healthcare providers how to recognize and treat critically ill or injured newborn infants. It covers advanced resuscitation techniques for newborns, including CPR, ventilation, and medications.

The main difference between PALS and NRP is the age range of the patients they cover. PALS covers children up to age 18, while NRP covers newborn infants up to 28 days old. 

Both certifications focus on advanced resuscitation techniques, but the focus and content of the training programs differ slightly to reflect the unique needs of different age groups.

What Does PALS Certification Cover?

A PALS certification covers advanced life support techniques and procedures for pediatric patients. 

This includes:

  1. Cardiac arrest management
  2. Cardiology emergencies
  3. Respiratory emergencies
  4. Shock management
  5. Cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
  6. Use of medications and other interventions

PALS certification is geared towards healthcare providers who care for pediatric patients, including doctors, nurses, and paramedics. It is typically required for those working in emergency departments, intensive care units, and other settings where pediatric patients may require advanced life support.

Who Should Get PALS Certification?

PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support) certification is typically recommended for healthcare professionals who work with pediatric patients, including:

  • Pediatricians
  • Emergency medicine physicians
  • Nurses (including advanced practice nurses)
  • Respiratory therapists
  • Paramedics
  • Physicians assistants
  • Nurse practitioners
  • Dentists

It is also recommended for individuals who work in settings where pediatric emergencies may occur, such as schools and childcare centers.

How To Get PALS Certified

To get PALS certified, you will need to follow these steps:

  1. Enroll in a PALS course: Find a reputable PALS training program accredited by the American Heart Association (AHA) or the American Red Cross (ARC). These programs typically offer online, in-person, and blended learning options.
  2. Attend the course: Complete the required hours of training, which may include lectures, video presentations, hands-on simulations, and skill assessments.
  3. Pass the exam: After completing the course, you must pass a written or online exam to demonstrate your knowledge and skills in pediatric advanced life support.
  4. Obtain a PALS card: Upon completing the course and exam, you will receive a PALS card confirming your certification.
  5. Renew your certification: PALS certification must be renewed every two years to ensure you are up-to-date on the latest guidelines and techniques. You must complete a renewal course or pass a recertification exam to renew your certificate.
  6. Overall, getting PALS certified requires a significant time and financial commitment, but it is a valuable investment for healthcare professionals who work with pediatric patients.

For more information about PALS certification and how to become a PALS-certified healthcare provider, visit the American Medical Resource Institute.

In Review

As a healthcare professional, you have the power to save lives. PALS certification is your ticket for helping others and your chance to be better prepared for any emergency that may arise in your workplace. As a certified PALS provider, you will be able to treat patients of all ages who suffer from cardiac arrest and trauma injuries.


Author Bio for Kate Macmorn

Kate Macmorn

Communications Director


Kate is the communications director for the American Medical Resource Institute, where they’ve trained over a million healthcare professionals to study for, earn and maintain life support certifications that allow them to better respond to cardiac emergencies. When not in the office, you can find Kate practicing her tennis skills. She also frequents live music venues and is always looking for her next creative hobby.